7th March 2014 – Greenland White-fronted Goose…

Over the last 3 or 4 weeks pretty much all of my days off work have fallen on days when it’s been absolutely chucking it down, which is obviously incredibly frustrating, and on the odd occasion when the weather has allowed me to get out I’ve seen bugger-all! Hence my lack of posts recently….

So it made a nice change this morning to see some blue skies over the Solway – albeit with gusty winds and the occasional heavy shower! I quickly jumped in my car and headed out birding, and pretty soon I was watching lots of Pink-footed Geese. And on my very first scan I spotted a rather marvellous 1st-winter Greenland White-fronted Goose. The light was superb for once and the geese were fairly close to the road, and the Whitefront was one of the closest birds – I could hardly believe my luck. I stayed inside the car and using a bean-bag for support I quickly began to get some photos…

IMG_9779-copy

IMG_9762-copy

IMG_9753-copy

IMG_9767-copy

IMG_9788-copy

IMG_9773-copy

IMG_9822-copy

Pleased with this and confident that nothing else was lurking amongst the pinks I moved to the next field along which had several thousand pinks in it.

IMG_9827-copy

I was unable to find anything interesting amongst them though – well until I came across the same Whitefront again! It had obviously flown from the other field and dropped into this one. Then without warning the whole lot went up, I looked to see a flippin’ tractor had gone into the field and flushed the lot. The geese were heading off towards Whitrigg so I moved round there, soon relocating the Whitefront yet again…

IMG_9836-copy

IMG_9846-copy

Presumably this is the same bird that I found back on the 7th February

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 7th March 2014 – Greenland White-fronted Goose…

  1. Carl Baggott says:

    It always great to see large flocks of geese. You did well to photograph the Greenland Whitefront so well done.

    Cheers,
    Carl.

  2. edwardsdorsetdays says:

    Beautiful! Thank you for the post.

    Date: Fri, 7 Mar 2014 13:53:08 +0000 To: lana_edwards@hotmail.co.uk

Leave a Reply

