24th August 2013 – Curlew Sands arrive…

It’s been a while since I last posted, despite regular checks of my patch and masses of waders to go through it’s been a very quiet couple of months with nothing of note to report. Right on cue my first juv Curlew Sandpipers arrived on the Solway today, with 7 smart individuals amongst a relatively small flock of Dunlin and Ringed Plovers at Drumburgh.

DSCN5205-copy

DSCN5217-copy

DSCN5151-copy

DSCN5259-copy

DSCN5268-copy

IMG_6159-copy

Shame I couldn’t find owt else today – on this day 7 years ago I found this cracking little bird at Port… and it’s memories of dream finds like this that keep me going when I can’t find anything new!

Phwoar!!

Phwoar!! Broad-billed Sand – a dream bird to find.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 24th August 2013 – Curlew Sands arrive…

  1. Carl Baggott says:

    Great birds Curlew Sands. I hope one finds it way to my local area. Hopefully the rare wader is only just around the corner for you Darren – keep searching.

  2. Mike Mills says:

    Great birds and good to your photos – we’ve missed your images!

Leave a Reply

