14th May 2013 – Wood Warbler on the Solway…

I managed to get to the shelter for just an hour mid-morning before work, so it wasn’t a surprise that I didn’t see any skuas in that short time, but I was totally surprised when a Wood Warbler gave 5 bursts of song from the surrounding trees. I never saw it and never heard it again. Bonkers. Literally passing through I guess! This is only the 2nd one I’ve ever had on the Solway coast, the other was one I found at Port Carlisle on 30th April 2006. A proper local rarity. Here’s a digiscoped shot of the Port bird…

Port Carlisle 30th April 2006

Port Carlisle 30th April 2006

A handful of Redpolls are currently visiting the garden feeders…

IMG_5564-copy

IMG_5550-copy

IMG_5538-copy

and one of them has a metal ring…

IMG_5508-copy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

