29th March 2013 – The day SIMPLE MINDS came to town!

Besides my family and birding, my biggest pleasure is music. And tonight I saw the mighty Simple Minds for the 5th time – and in my home county too. I couldn’t believe it last year when they announced they were gonna be playing at The Sands Centre in Carlisle on their new Celebrate Tour, the first time they’ve ever played here, and I’ve been counting down the days ever since…

DSC_0019-copy

It seems a long time ago (cuz it is!) since I first saw this band live – but back in the 80’s and 90’s I saw them twice at the NEC Birmingham, and also at the Milton Keynes Bowl and at Cardiff Arms Park. Ah them were the days. And now they were coming to Carlisle!! Bonkers.

It was a top night of Simple Minds choons, no support band, just a whole night with them. And we got right to the front, literally 15ft away from legends Charlie Burchill and Jim Kerr…

DSC_0004-copy-2

DSC_0003-copy

DSC_0008-copy

Charlie Burchill - LEGEND!

Charlie Burchill – LEGEND!

DSC_0009-copy

I make no apologies for uploading this ‘bird-free’ post to my blog!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 29th March 2013 – The day SIMPLE MINDS came to town!

  1. Spencer Turner says:

    Today i saw a film going backwards, 30 frames a second, was a man i recognised.
    Glad you enjoyed the show, i’ve been a fan since 1979s Life in a day.

  2. Neil says:

    My father in law was saying to me yesterday “have you checked solway sand piper”repeatedly,only got round to it today, no birds but an awesome band

Leave a Reply

