14th March 2013 – Staggering numbers of geese on the Solway…

Wow, this morning was fantastic. I really didn’t know which way to look, a sea of geese in every direction. I was completely spellbound.

IMG_3101-copy

IMG_3093-copy-2

IMG_3130-copy

IMG_3110-copy

IMG_3081-copy

IMG_3093-copy

So I was determined to find something amongst that lot! And I did, the bloomin’ Todd’s again, I want to find something new now! Anyway, here it is, and as you can see the views of it are getting slightly better…

DSCN3671-copy

DSCN3646-copy

DSCN3676-copy

DSCN3660-copy

Showing the chin-strap

Showing the chin-strap

DSCN3651-copy

DSCN3693-copy

DSCN3684-copy

IMG_3208-copy

I also managed to read a neck-collared Pink – TCX – I will send the record off to see where it’s been…

IMG_3047-copy

The leucistic Pink was also amongst them…

DSCN3634-copy

DSCN3636-copy

IMG_3190-copy

But frustratingly I couldn’t find a Bean Goose or Whitefront or Red-breasted, in fact the only other species I could find was a Greylag! Thought I’d save the best til last!…

See if you can spot it!

Greylag showing well!

But what a spectacle, there’s nowhere I’d rather be, immense!

Well OK, maybe on North Uist watching a Harlequin…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 14th March 2013 – Staggering numbers of geese on the Solway…

  1. Carl Baggott says:

    Wow – it’s really good to see that the geese are doing so well. It will be interesting to hear about the life-history of TCX.

Leave a Reply

