31st March & 1st April 2012 – Garganey, Big Egret and Kingfisher…

After working in the sunshine all week I was looking forward to my first weekend off in 5 weeks. Towards the end of last week some unbelievably stupid motorists had run most of the local petrol stations dry (how incredibly idiotic are some people?), so I had no choice but to stay very local. Still, that suited me just fine. I began nice and early on Saturday morning at Campfield Marsh and enjoyed the sunrise along with the Great White Egret…

If you look closely at the photo above you will see the addition of some posts on the saltmarsh pool, this comes after I put forward a suggestion to Norman a little while ago. You never know, it might encourage a Whiskered or White-winged Black Tern to hang around for a day or two….

The sunny conditions continued whilst I walked down to the hide at North Plain, and with the constant singing Skylarks, displaying Lapwings and this drumming Snipe (below), it really was beginning to feel like spring had properly arrived…

A drake Garganey was playing hide ‘n’ seek amongst the vegetation, and as usual (for me) it was as far away from the hide as it could possibly be, with absolutely no chance whatsoever of getting any pics. Always nice to see though. In addition to the Garganey a single Ruff a couple of Blackwits were also seen.

Over the course of the weekend I spent several hours sussing out my Kingfisher site, most of the time I saw nothing at all and ended up playing ‘pooh sticks’ on my own, but with lots and lots of patience I managed to get these two shots…

Back home and the Tree Sparrows were doing a bit of interior decorating…

And this canny drake Bullfinch posed for a while…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

