26th January 2012 – Stunning Hen Harrier

Male Hen Harriers are quite simply superb. I was looking at the (incredibly) distant Barnacle Geese on Rockcliffe Marsh this morning when I noticed a cracking Hen Harrier passing the monument on Burgh Marsh. After a few minutes observation it disappeared to the west so I wondered if it could be seen from Boustead Hill instead. Within a couple of minutes of arriving it appeared right in front of me over the marsh, so I grabbed my camera and grabbed a few dodgy record shots. Presumably the brownish tinge to the upperparts and central tail feathers indicates that it is not in adult plumage – perhaps a subadult/2nd winter male.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

