31st December 2011 – Desert Delight!

Some time ago a 1st winter male Desert Wheatear was discovered at Newbiggin-by-the-Sea in Northumberland, but it wasn’t until today that I finally got round to taking a look. After parking up by the church we made our way north along the beach, and the further we walked the more I began to wonder whether I’d left it too late and the bird had departed. And then, just as we approached the last bit of beach before Beacon Point I saw the bird fly away in front of me. Phew! It was still there, my second-ever Desert Wheatear, and first since 1999. I was then treated to unbeatable views, it was remarkably confiding, often approaching me as close as a few feet, and despite the overcast conditions I managed to get a few decent pics.

In the bay off Church Point there were several Med Gulls of various ages, including 1w, 2w and adults….

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 31st December 2011 – Desert Delight!

  1. James Robson says:

    Some great shots there! I must have missed you by minutes. Same story for me today – I’d just given up hop and looking back north it popped into the dune wall.

Leave a Reply

