30th July 2011 – Patch tick…

After a long crap week at work it was great to be out on the patch early this morning, and it wasn’t long before I got a very nice surprise – a female Crossbill. A very unexpected patch and year tick. It flew low over me calling and continued towards the harbour. Glad I set the alarm now! With the my Leica zoom eyepiece back in action today it was great to scan the distant waders in comfort. It also meant I was able to digiscope two other surprises – a juvenile Kittiwake alongside an adult Med Gull. Of course Kittiwakes are common during spring gales as they pass through the Solway but I think this is the first time I’ve actually seen one ‘on’ the patch.

....and both in the same view

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

