1st June 2011 – Another Curlew Sand

My first stop this afternoon was Bowness Railings. I arrived at about 3pm and began scanning through the birds, soon spotting the pale Ringed Plover that has been around for a few weeks now.  https://solwaysandpiper.wordpress.com/2011/05/21/21st-may-2011-nestbox-update/ 

Sanderling were everywhere, as were Ringed Plover and Dunlin, there was also a single Knot and a Curlew Sandpiper.

I then moved to Port Carlisle where I located the Curlew Sandpiper I’d just left at the railings! I reckon there was also at least 300 Sanderling between Bowness and Port this afternoon. Shelduck have successfully bred in the harbour and a single Whimbrel was also present. Whilst I was birding at Port I received a text from RBA saying there had been a Kentish Plover reported at Bowness Railings at 1240pm. I made a few exploratory phone calls but no-one knows anything about the sighting at present. I hope there is one out there. Maybe tomorrow…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

