24th May 2011 – No Ross’s Gull but Little Gulls linger

I was in nearby Glasson village when I received a call saying there was a Ross’s Gull currently reported flying around at Port Carlisle. Needless to say I was there within a few minutes, but I couldn’t find the bird, or any birders. I then spotted a handful of immature Little Gulls further towards Glasson Point and made my way there – just in case one of them was the reported Ross’s. A short while later 5 car loads were searching for it (after abandoning skua watches), but all we could find were these splendid Little Gulls….

Forgot to mention yesterday that my Tree Sparrows have all fledged successfully. Just the Great Tits and Blue Tits to go…. fingers crossed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

