10th October 2010 – Radde’s Warbler at Craster

After successfully seeing both the Bluetail and Dusky Warbler earlier in the day we headed back to base at Craster. Coincidentally a Radde’s Warbler had been reported here so it seemed the logical thing to do! Two other birders joined me as I walked north from the car park along Dunstanburgh Heughs, and like elsewhere along the coast the scrub here was alive with migrants. A warbler caught my attention and as I casually raised my bins I was stunned to see a Radde’s Warbler staring back at me! The chap next to me got his scope onto it as I rattled off a few record shots, he then let me look through his scope and sure enough there it was – a Radde’s!

Unfortunately the other fella had walked off into the distance and not seen it so I called him back. We fully expected the bird to reappear, other birders were arriving regularly hoping to see it, but despite an extensive search it failed to show again. Jammy or what! Dusky and Radde’s in the same county on the same day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

