10th September 2010 – Black Tern still at Longtown, Ruff and Curlew Sand at Port

Black Tern can be tricky to see in Cumbria, I’ve only seen the species on three previous occasions in the county, so with the juvenile I spotted on the 8th still present yesterday I decided to take a look today on my day off. Thankfully the bird was still zipping around over the pond and I enjoyed excellent views of it – Black Terns really are stunning birds.

This juvenile Peregrine put in a brief appearance over the pond, and spooked the tern, but after about 5 minutes the tern reappeared unscathed.

Back on the Solway I paid a quick visit to Port in the late afternoon for the falling tide. The only birds of note were a single Ruff, 2 juvenile Curlew Sandpipers, a Black-tailed Godwit, a few Knot and a Little Egret.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.